Loras College TV earns Overall Excellence from Iowa Broadcast News Association

DUBUQUE, IowaLoras College Television (LCTV) has earned Overall Excellence as a news station from the Iowa Broadcast News Association. The student-led station collected 18 awards, sweeping three categories and claiming 12 first-place finishes.

“Our students compete against some of the largest universities in the country every year and we continue to excel because of their commitment to produce professional quality work every day,” said Craig Schaefer, professor of media studies at Loras College. “They are tremendous storytellers who invest themselves in their audience and their work.”

Beyond awards handed out by IBNA, three LCTV reporters also received scholarships from the organization. Kelly Kuboushek, of Ridgeway, Iowa, received the Grant Price Scholarship; Joel Schmidt, Dubuque, received the Dick Petrik Outstanding Student Award; and Allison Wong, Dubuque, received the John Bachman Scholarship.

The full list of awards includes:

First place
Overall Excellence: LCTV
Overall Excellence in Anchoring: Wong and Dimitri Villanueva, Aurora, Illinois.
Overall Excellence in Reporting: Wong.
Best Sportscast: Schmidt, Allie Kaleta, New Lenox, Illinois; and Aidan Wojciehowski, Port Washington, Wisconsin.
Best Newscast: Wong, Payton Van Vors, Wes Des Moines; Melissa Link, Sherrill, Iowa; and Villanueva.
Political Coverage: LCTV compilation.
General Reporting: Wong and Charlie Grant, Chicago
Farm and Agribusiness: “Robotic Milking” Villanueva and Mareah Adolphs, Miles.
Sports Coverage: “Duhawk Wrestling,” Schmidt.
Spots News: Wong and Grant.
In-Depth/Series: “Money Talk” Wong.
Feature: “Grocernaut,” Link and Villanueva.

Second place
General Reporting: Villanueva.
Sports Play-by-Play: Live sports compilation.
Overall Excellence in Anchoring: Schmidt and Kaleta.

Third place
Overall Excellence in Reporting: Schmidt.
News Photography: Schmidt.
In Depth/Series: Greg Cormier, Rockford, Illinois; Villanueva, and Wojciehowski.

LCTV’s Overall Excellence Award from IBNA comes on the heels of the station earning Best All-Around Television Newscast from the Society of Professional Journalists as part of the 2015 Mark of Excellence Awards from Region 7 (Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri).

LCTV students competed against all colleges and universities regardless of size. The winning newscast included Wong, Van Vors, Villanueva, and Rachel Choice. The station now moves on to the national MOE competition among category winners from the 12 SPJ regions.

National winners will be notified in the late spring and will be recognized at Excellence in Journalism 2016 Sept. 18-20 in New Orleans.

About Loras College
Loras College leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan colleges to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. According to the 2016 U.S. News Best Colleges rankings, Loras College was named the 13th Best Regional College: Midwest. Visit www.loras.edu for more information.


Sue Hafkemeyer, Director of Communication                   Thomas Jensen, Public Relations Manager
Office: 563.588.7769 | Cell: 563.590.3999                         Office: 563.588.7179 | Cell: 919.930.1997
sue.hafkemeyer@loras.edu                                                 thomas.jensen@loras.edu

LCTV earns Overalll Excellence