LCTV Earns Station of the Year an unprecedented 10th time


For an unprecedented 10th year in a row, Loras College Television (LCTV) has been named the Television Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA).

The recognition is the highest award the ICMA can confer upon any of Iowa’s college and university television/video programs. Loras students won more awards than any other college or university in Iowa. Students took first place in nine of the 12 competition categories including Best Newscast, Best News Programming, Public Affairs, Best Short Film, Best Documentary, Best Commercial, Best Corporate Video, Best News Storytelling, and Best Entertainment Storytelling.

“To consistently achieve this kind of recognition is really a tribute to the wide array of abilities of our students,” Craig Schaefer (’89), professor of media studies, said. “No matter what the genre, our students really commit to creating professional, high end work every day, and that makes all the difference.”

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Academic Dean Donna Heald, Ph.D., added, “We are very proud of the accomplishments of the students who received awards for their work and the outstanding instruction provided by the Loras College Media Studies faculty for 10+ years.”

The ICMA includes 17 colleges and universities in Iowa committed to excellence in media education. It’s open to all students, faculty, staff and advisors involved in higher education.

Best Newscast

*  Producer: Kelly Kuboushek (’18); Anchors: Ben Friedman (’19) and Bailey Hussey (’18), first place – Loras College, LCTV News  (November 8, 2017)
* Producer: Sami Graff (’18); Anchors: Jeremy Vallin (’18) and Aidan Wojciehowski (’18), second place, SportsZONE  (November 15, 2017)
* Producers: Amber Krieg (’20) and Friedman; Anchors:  Maggie Wedlake (’20) and Friedman, third place, LCTV News  (October 3, 2018)

Best News Programming

* Loras College, LCTV – LCTV Live!

Best News, Public Affairs, or Sports Storytelling Package

* Michael Runde (’20) and Friedman, first place, Special Spaces
* Kuboushek, third place, Declining Dairy Prices

Best Entertainment Storytelling Package

* Pat Hunt (’20) and Ben Burkholder (’20), first place, Coast to Coast
* Friedman and Runde second place, The Night Before the Holiday Show
* Runde, Friedman and Burkholder, third place, Munchies with Michael

Best Variety, Music, or Comedy Program

* LCTV Staff, second place, “LCTV Holiday Edition”
* Tara Shingler (’18), Adrienne Pearson (’18) and Kyle Bies (’19), third place, “Pass the Plate”

Best Short Documentary

* Rachel Choice (’18) and Graff, first place, “Living Proof”
* Runde and Friedman, second place, “Brother”

Best Long Form Documentary

* Brody Kuhar (’18), Jack Sarcone (’18) and John Woerdehoff (’18), first place, “Art of Living”
* Levi Bernhard (’18), third place, “A Brief Study of SNCC”

Best Promo, Commercial, or PSA

* Krieg, first place, “Dubuque Regional Humane Society”
* Abby Paul (’22), second place, “SportsZONE Promo”

Best Experimental Video

* Seth Kilburg (’20), second place, “Running Wild on the West Coast”
* Emilie Dalsing (’19), Andrew Kilburg (’21), and Jonathan Quinn (’21), third place, “Oh, Lord”

Best Corporate Video

* Kuboushek and Madison Galloway (’18), first place, “EMS: A Career with a Heartbeat”
* Vallin and Wojciehowski, honorable mention, “Zoarc”

Best Short Film

* Sarah Mueller (’19), Woerdehoff, Kuhar, Sarcone, Krieg, and Caroline Breitbach (’20), first place, “Curdled”
* Woerdehoff and Sarcone, second place, “Abra Kadabra”
* Mueller, third place, “Coffee Talk