Loras College TV earns Best All-Around Newscast from Society of Professional Journalists

Loras College Television (LCTV) has earned Best All-Around Newscast and Television News and Photography from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). The announcement came during its Region 7 2016 Mark of Excellence Awards presentation in Indianapolis. Region 7 comprises Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska.

Seniors Allison Wong, Dubuque; Payton Van Vors, West Des Moines; Kelly Kuboushek, Ridgeway; and junior Sami Graff, Waterloo, were recognized for their work. Wong and junior, Charlie Grant, Chicago, earned the Mark of Excellence award for their piece “Unearthed” in the Television News and Feature Photography category.

In addition to the SPJ awards, the media studies program at Loras recently earned Overall Excellence as a news station from the Iowa Broadcast News Association. The student-led station collected 21 awards, claiming 13 first-place finishes, and earning two of four scholarships.

LCTV also took home Best Newscast, Best Sportscast, Best Reporting, Best Anchoring, and more. Overall, LCTV’s 21 awards topped University of Iowa, 12; Iowa State University, five; Wartburg College, five; and St. Ambrose University, four.

Individually, Wong received the John Bachman Scholarship given to a student intending to pursue a career in TV. Freshman Ben Friedman, Ankeny, received the Grant Price Scholarship awarded to a student with outstanding promise at an early career stage.

Call 563.588.7100 or (800) 245-6727, like Loras College on Facebook or follow @lorascollege for more news.