Loras College media studies program earns 10 awards

For Immediate Release
April 13, 2017

DUBUQUE, Iowa – The Loras College media studies program and student-led Loras College Television (LCTV) have earned a combined 10 major awards from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) and the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA). This year, NATAS alone received more than 200 entries from 40 high schools, colleges and universities.

“These are extremely competitive events,” said Craig Schaefer, professor of media studies and advisor at Loras. “To win just one is difficult. To win 10 is extraordinary and is the largest combined number of awards we’ve received in each of the competitions. It’s a true testament the dedication and professional talents of our students.”

Loras media studies students earned three awards in the 2017 NATAS-Upper Midwest Student Production Competition open to all colleges and universities in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Iowa, including:

  • Melissa Link, producer, and Maddie Galloway, producer, for nonfiction film “Behind the Bump: A Birth Mother’s Story”
  • Kelly Kuboushek, producer, and Jack Sarcone, producer, for Inspire Café TV commercial
  • Charlie Grant, photographer, for “Dubuque Artist”

In the 2017 MBJA competition, also held in Bloomington, the Loras media studies program garnered seven awards, including:

  • First place, Allison Wong, producer, and Payton Van Vors, producer, Eric Severaid Award for Best Newscast
  • First place, Charlie Grant, Eric Severaid Award for Photojournalism
  • First place, Melissa Link and Madison Galloway, producers, Eric Severaid Award for Documentary/Special
  • Award of Merit (Student Market TV) for Best Sportscast: SportsZONE, Allie Kaleta, producer
  • Award of Merit (Student Market TV) for Documentary/Special: “Earning the Halo,” Makaila Haase and Juanita Bustamante, producers
  • Award of Merit (Student Market TV) for News Series: Allison Wong
  • Award of Merit (Student Market TV) for General News Reporting: Allison Wong

The Eric Sevareid awards are named for the North Dakota-born and University of Minnesota-educated journalist best known for his work as a correspondent for CBS Radio and Television. Each year, the MBJA presents awards to the best work done by broadcast news operations and journalists working in small, medium and large markets in our six-state region on radio, television and online.

In February, LCTV has earned the 2016 Television Station the Year Award from the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA). The station has now earned the honor an unprecedented eight times.

The recognition is the highest award the ICMA can bestow upon any of Iowa’s college and university television/video programs. In total, Loras students took home more awards than any other college or university in Iowa.

Loras leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan institutions to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. Loras ranks among 450 NCAA Division III athletic programs in Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings, 11th out of the Top 100 baccalaureate colleges, according to the 2016 Washington Monthly College Rankings, 13th Best Regional College, according to Midwest U.S. News Best Colleges and is among the 200 Best-Loved Colleges in the nation, according to Forbes Magazine.

Visit www.loras.edu, call (563) 588-7100 or (800) 245-6727, like Loras College on Facebook or follow @lorascollege to learn more.

Director of Communications & Marketing
563.588.7407 | Loras.edu | Duhawks.com