Loras College media studies students receive multiple regional awards

Loras College media studies students recently received several honors from the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA) the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences: Upper Midwest Chapter (NATAS), the Iowa Broadcast News Association (IBNA) and the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).  Additionally, two student documentaries were official selections and were screened at the Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival.
The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association once again recognized Loras media studies students as some of the best in the Midwest. Ten students accepted four prestigious Eric Sevareid Awards at the April 16 ceremony, showcasing the wide range of high-quality work they produced:

Producers: Mareah Adolphs (‘15) (Miles, Iowa), Allison Wong (’17) (Dubuque, Iowa), Payton Van Vors (’17) (West Des Moines, Iowa)
Anchors: Allison Wong (’17), Makaila Haase (’16) (Des Moines, Iowa)
Award of Merit – Newscast
Producers & anchors: Joel Schmidt (’16) (Dubuque, Iowa), Allie Kaleta (’17) (New Lenox, Illinois)
Award of Merit – Sportscast
Live Sports Football
Producer: Billy Rehfeld (’16) (Oak Lawn, Illinois)
Commentators: Kyle Jacobs (’15) (Bellevue, Iowa), Joel Schmidt (’16)
Award of Merit – Sports Play-by-Play
Christopher’s Champions
Documentary about a Loras Dance Marathon Miracle Kid
Producers: Trey Davis (’16) (Sterling, Illinois), Laura Bohorquez (’17) (Bogota, Colombia)
Award of Merit – Documentary/Special

The MBJA competition spans six states and puts Loras College up against schools like St. Cloud State, Minnesota State Moorhead, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, St. Thomas, UW- Milwaukee, University of North Dakota, University of South Dakota and Wartburg College.
“The students’ creativity and dedication to their craft is inspiring. We’re blessed to have them on our campus,” said Kate Berning (’09), Loras College coordinator of media operations.
Following the MBJA awards, Joel Schmidt (’16) received the Edward J. Piette Leadership Scholarship from NATAS. Schmidt has been producing SportsZONE since his sophomore year and added anchoring to his list of responsibilities this year. In addition to leading the sportscast, he commentates for Live Sports broadcasts and works as a crucial behind-the-scenes crew member for LCTV News.
Loras’ LCTV News was one of three finalists for the Best All-Around Television Newscast from Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska). The regional winner was the University of Kansas, and Loras also shared the finals with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
“Our students compete against some of the largest universities in the country every year and we continue to excel because they are dedicated to doing the job right.  They are tremendous storytellers who invest themselves in their audience and their work.  That’s why they continue to be amongst the best in the nation every year,” said Craig Schaefer, professor of media studies.
According to the Iowa Broadcast News Association, LCTV is Iowa’s best. During the annual awards banquet on April 18, Loras collected a total of 21 awards, sweeping three categories and claiming 1st place in nine of the 13 categories entered, including topping the University of Iowa for first place for Best Newscast and Best Sportscast.

Overall Excellence: LCTV
Best Newscast: LCTV News – produced by Mareah Adolphs (’15)
Best Sportscast: SportsZONE – produced by Joel Schmidt (’16)
Overall Excellence in Reporting: Allison Wong (’17)
Political Coverage: Election 2014 – LCTV Staff
Feature: Clare Cares – Allison Wong (’17)
Sports: ESPN Impact – Billy Rehfeld (’16)
Spot News: Courthouse Shooting – Mareah Adolphs (’15)
Photography: Behind-the-Scenes of the Nutcracker – Mareah Adolphs (’15), Makaila Haase (’16)

Additionally, Wong received the Grant Price Scholarship and Haase received the John Bachman Scholarship, both given to students who show outstanding promise in the field. Schmidt was named the student-at-large representative of the IBNA board.
LCTV student winners include: Samantha Cihak (’15) (Naperville, Illinois), Caroline Foglton (’17) (New Lenox, Illinois), Wong, Kaleta (’17), Schmidt, Maddie Galloway (’18) (West Des Moines, Iowa), Levi Bernhard (’18) (Algona, Iowa), Adolphs, Billy Rehfeld(’16), Greg Cormier (’16) (Rockford, Illinois), Aidan Wojciehowski (’18) (Port Washington, Wisconsin).
Lastly, two Loras College students’ films were official selections and were screened at the Cedar Rapids Film Festival in April: Christopher’s Champions, produced by Trey Davis (’16) and Laura Bohorquez (’17); and The Battle Continues: The Story of James Stephenson, produced by Mariah Duran (’15) (Hazel Green, Wisconsin) and Samantha Reyes (’15) (Chicago, Illinois).  Duran and Reyes received a Silver Eddy for their documentary.