Various hardcover books stacked, isolated on white with clipping path


Two Loras College students have been honored by the scholastic honor society Delta Epsilon Sigma (DES) in its annual fellowship and scholarship competition. Micaela Mertens (’15) was awarded the Fitzgerald Fellowship, while Kaitlin Phillips (’16) (Hinckley, Illinois) won the Fitzgerald Scholarship from DES, named after the founder and first secretary-treasurer of DES, Reverend Edward A. Fitzgerald of Loras College.
Seniors apply for the Fitzgerald Fellowship, which awards winners $1,200 to be applied toward tuition costs for first-year graduate work.
“It is such an honor to be chosen for a fellowship through DES,” said Mertens, who majored in biological research. “This program is filled with students at the top of their class with many achievements and accomplishments of their own. I can’t express my gratitude enough for being selected and I hope I can continue to make the program proud as I continue my education.”
Junior-year members apply for the Fitzgerald Scholarship to receive $1,200 towards tuition costs for their senior year as an undergraduate.
“I’m honored to be chosen for this scholarship,” said Phillips, who triple majors in international studies, sociology and politics. “With any sort of award or recognition it’s incredibly humbling. What’s special about DES is the caliber of people who are members. To be recognized among the pool of applicants that they had is a huge honor and it makes me grateful for the opportunities Loras has given me.”
Delta Epsilon Sigma was founded in 1938 at Loras College by Reverend E.A. Fitzgerald as a Catholic honor society. As a result, Loras became the first DES chapter in the nation. DES recognizes academic accomplishments, fosters scholarly activities and encourages a sense of intellectual community among its members.