Loras College TV Team

Loras College Television earns Station of the Year for seventh time  

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Loras College Television (LCTV) has been named Iowa’s Collegiate Television Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA) for the seventh year in a row.

 “We are fortunate to have some of the best media students anywhere enrolled right here at Loras,” said Craig Schaefer, professor of media studies at Loras College. “They work tirelessly to develop their abilities—whether that is in broadcast journalism or creative media production.  So, when they are honored by some of the top professionals in the field for the outstanding quality of their work, it’s a tremendous achievement.”

In addition, Loras College media studies students dominated the individual category awards, taking home first place for seven of the 11 awards. The students showcased the incredible depth and breadth of the Loras media studies program with wins in best newscast, best short film, best commercial, best short documentary and best corporate video. 

Loras College media studies students placed in the following categories.


  • First place: LCTV News | Mareah Adolphs, Miles; Allison Wong, Dubuque; Makaila Haase, Des Moines; Payton Van Vors, West Des Moines; and Dimitri Villanueva, Aurora, Illinois
  • Third place: SportsZONE | Joel Schmidt, Dubuque, and Allie Kaleta, New Lenox, Illinois

News Programming

  • First place: Adolphs, Wong, Schmidt, Kaleta, and Villanueva

News/Public Affairs Storytelling

  • Second place: Haase
  • Honorable mention: Haase

Entertainment Storytelling

  • First place: Haase
  • Second place: Adolphs

Variety, Music and Comedy

  • Third place: Travis Exline, Aurora, Illinois; Madison Galloway, West Des Moines; and Jeremy Peters, Clinton


  • Second place: Billy Rehfeld, Oak Lawn, Illinois; Kyle Jacobs, Bellevue, and Schmidt
  • Third place: Rehfeld and Jacobs

Short Documentary

  • First place: Adolphs and Lina Rodriguez, Bogota, Colombia
  • Second place: Julie White, Westmont, Illinois, and Charlie Grant, Chicago
  • Third place: Kaleta, and Caroline Foglton, New Lenox, Illinois
  • Honorable mention: Laura Bohorquez, Bogota, Colombia, and Trey Davis, Sterling, Illinois

Commercial or PSA

  • First place: Melissa Link, Sherrill, and Jenae Long, Vinton
  • Third place – Bohorquez

Experimental Video

  • Third place: Samantha Cihak Naperville, Illinois
  • Honorable mention: Austin Cousins, Waterloo

Corporate Video

  • First place: Mariah Duran, Hazel Green, Wisconsin

Short film

  • First place: Duran, Greg Cormier, Rockford, Illinois
  • Second place: Matt Resnick, Dubuque; Cihak, and Tom Graziano, Park Ridge, Illinois
  • Honorable mention: Katie O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, and Ben Schmidt, Bellevue


Visit www.loras.edu for more information.