Loras College TV earns Overall Excellence from Iowa Broadcast News Association

Students bring home 16 awards, two scholarships

DUBUQUE, IowaLoras College Television (LCTV) has earned the 2018 Overall Excellence as a Station along with nine first place accolades from the Iowa Broadcast News Association (IBNA). The station, run by students in the College’s media studies program, also won Best Sportscast and Best Newscast. In total, Loras students took home 16 awards.

“Loras students always perform at the highest level. We are honored that professionals in the field continue to recognize them as the best in the state year after year,” said Jill Specht, coordinator of Media Operations at Loras College. “They simply rise to the challenge every time.”

The competition is open to all colleges and universities in Iowa.

Amber Krieg and Kelly Kuboushek each earned IBNA scholarships. Krieg received the Grant Price Scholarship named in honor of the late of the Iowa broadcast legend. Kuboushek earned the Dick Petrik Outstanding Student Award named for the late longtime news director at KOEL Radio in Oelwein.

Award winners were announced during the IBNA Conference in Cedar Rapids. Along with Station of the Year, several individual Loras reporters were recognized for their work.

  • First place, Political Reporting: LCTV News for “Dubuque City Elections Coverage”
  • First place, General Reporting: Kuboushek for “Tackling Truancy”
  • First place, Excellence in Reporting: Kuboushek
  • First place, Sports Coverage: Aidan Wojciehowski for “Senior O-line”
  • First place, News Photography: Charlie Grant and Allison Wong for “Fincel’s Farm”
  • First place, Farm and Ag: Grant and Wong for “Fincel’s Farm”
  • Second place, Feature Reporting: Ben Friedman for “Stand-up comedy in Dubuque”
  • Second Place, Sports Coverage: Sami Graff for “Wrestling Nationals Recap”
  • Second Place, Excellence in Reporting: Friedman
  • Second Place, General Reporting: Wong for “Dubuquers speak about President’s Trump’s immigration policies”
  • Second place, Sportscasting: Wojciehowski, Pat Hunt and Tara Shingler
  • Third place, Excellence in Anchoring: Friedman
  • Third Place, Spot News: Maggie Wedlake, Kuboushek and Adrienne Pearson for “Shooting update”

The IBNA is a nonprofit association of radio-TV news directors, reporters, producers, public relations and others from Iowa who come together to strengthen electronic media news. Award winners were announced during the IBNA Spring Convention in Cedar Rapids.

Loras leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan institutions to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. Loras ranks among 450 NCAA Division III athletic programs in Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings, 11th out of the Top 100 baccalaureate colleges, according to the 2016 Washington Monthly College Rankings, 13th Best Regional College, according to Midwest U.S. News Best Colleges and is among the 200 Best-Loved Colleges in the nation, according to Forbes Magazine.

Visit, call (563) 588-7100 or (800) 245-6727, like Loras College on Facebook or follow @lorascollege to learn more.

Director of Communications & Marketing
563.588.7407 | |