Award Winners

Loras College TV earns Station of the Year from Iowa College Media Association

LCTV award winners
Pictured: Back (left to right): Dustin Dawson, Sarah Mueller, Jack Sarcone, John Woerdehoff, Jeremy Vallin, Levi Bernhard, and Adrienne Pearson. Front (left to right): Laura Cifuentes, Dimitri Villanueva, Allie Kaleta, Allison Wong, Sami Graf, and Kelly Kuboushek.

DUBUQUE, IowaLoras College Television (LCTV) has earned the 2016 Television Station the Year Award from the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA). The station, run by students in the college’s media studies program, has now earned the honor an unprecedented eight times.

The recognition is the highest award the ICMA can bestow upon any of Iowa’s college and university television/video programs. In total, Loras students took home more awards than any other college or university in Iowa.

“To be named the best in Iowa is a tremendous honor for our media studies students and the entire program,” said Craig Schaefer, professor of media studies at Loras College. “They work tremendously hard on everything they do and to be recognized for their efforts serves to inspire them all the more.”

The ICMA is a group of 17 colleges and universities in Iowa committed to the development of excellence in media education.  It’s open to all students, faculty, staff and advisors involved in higher education.

Award winners were announced during the ICMA Conference in Des Moines. Along with Station of the Year, several individual Loras reporters were recognized for their work.

Best newscast
First place: LCTV News, Allison Wong
Second Place: LCTV News, Payton Van Vors
Third Place: SportsZONE, Joel Schmidt

News programming
Second place: “LCTV LIVE: Holiday Edition 2015”

First place: “Shots Fired,” Allison Wong

Entertainment storytelling
First place, “Rendez Vous with Ray,” Rachel Choice and Dimitri Villaneuva

Second place, “Dubuquer in Dublin,” Allison Wong and Charlie Grant

Variety, music, and comedy show
Third place: “DuNite,” Staff

Second place: LCTV LIVE Basketball

Short documentary
First place: “Plumery Tails,” Aidain Wojciehowski and Rachel Choice
Second place: “Dex,” Josh Larson

Long documentary
First place: “Earning the Halo,” Makaila Haase and Juanita Bustamante

Promos, PSAs, commercials
First place: “Inspire Cafe,” Kelly Kuboushek and Jack Sarcone
Second place: “Hate School?”, Mariam McKee

Experimental video
First place: “Camp Monster,” Keontae Neely
Second place: “Colombia Rotoscope,” Juanita Bustamante
Honorable mention: “Can’t Blame a Girl for Trying,” Sami Graff and Bailey Hussey

Corporate video
First place: “This is Heartland,” Austin Cousins
Second place: “Victory Outreach,” Joel Schmidt, Greg Cormier, and Trey Davis

Short film
Third place: “In Nothing Flat,” Brody Kuhar and Clare Huguelet

Loras leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan institutions to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. Loras ranks among 450 NCAA Division III athletic programs in Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings, 11th out of the Top 100 baccalaureate colleges, according to the 2016 Washington Monthly College Rankings, 13th Best Regional College, according to Midwest U.S. News Best Colleges and is among the 200 Best-Loved Colleges in the nation, according to Forbes Magazine.

Visit, call (563) 588-7100 or (800) 245-6727, like Loras College on Facebook or follow @lorascollege to learn more.

Director of Communications & Marketing
563.588.7407 | |