Loras College TV earns Station of the Year for unprecedented ninth time

Loras College TV earns Station of the Year an unprecedented ninth time

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Loras College Television (LCTV) has earned 2017 Television Station of the Year from the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA). The station, run by students in the College’s media studies program, has now earned the honor an unprecedented nine times.

The recognition is the highest award the ICMA can confer upon any of Iowa’s college and university television/video programs. Loras students took home more awards than any other college or university in Iowa. The station also took first place in 11 of the 12 TV categories including Best Newscast, Best Short Film, Best Sportscasting and Best Variety/Music/Comedy Program.

“To be named the best in Iowa is a tremendous honor for our students and the entire media studies program,” said Craig Schaefer, director of media studies at Loras. “They work tremendously hard on everything they do and to be recognized for their efforts serves to inspire them all the more.”

In addition to LCTV’s awards, longtime Loras professor Pat Pisarik posthumously received the 2018 John Eighmey Service Award, ICMA’s most distinguished honor. It recognizes an individual whose efforts have been instrumental in advancing the quality of media education in Iowa. The organization also voted unanimously to change the name of the award to the Pat Pisarik Journalist of the Year Scholarship. Pisarik, who was a founding member of the ICMA, taught journalism at Loras for nearly 25 years before his death in October 2017.

The ICMA includes 17 colleges and universities in Iowa committed to excellence in media education. It’s open to all students, faculty, staff and advisors involved in higher education. Individual award winners were also announced during the ICMA Conference in Des Moines Feb. 1.

Best News, Public Affairs, or Sports Storytelling Package

  • Allison Wong and Charlie Grant, both 2017 graduates, first place, “Dubuque Artist”
  • Aidan Wojciehowski, senior, second place, “Senior O-Line”
  • Kelly Kuboushek, junior, honorable mention, “Cafe Fraiche”

Best Entertainment Storytelling Package

  • Dimitri Villanueva, 2017 graduate, first place, “Dining with Dimitri”
  • Aidan Wojciehowski and Jeremy Vallin, both seniors, third place, “Football Accuracy Sports Challenge”

Best Variety, Music and Comedy Program

  • Loras College Media Studies J-Term Class 2017, first place, “A Big, Fat, Greek Odyssey”  
  • LCTV Staff, second place, “Holiday Edition”
  • LCTV Staff, third place, “LCTV LIVE Ducap”

Best Sportscasting     

  • Ryan Gill, Josh Larsen and Dustin Dawson, all 2017 graduates, Tara Shingler, senior, and LCTV Staff, first place

Best Short Documentary      

  • Wong and Grant, second place, “Dubuque’s Holding”
  • Kuboushek and Jack Sarcone, junior, honorable mention, “The Crown”          

Best Long Form Documentary          

  • Madison Galloway, senior, and Melissa Link, 2017 graduate, first place, “Behind the Bump”
  • Dawson, Adam Roloff, Josh Larsen, all 2017 graduates, second place, “A Life in Footprints”

Best Promo, Commercial or PSA      

  • Grant, first place, “LCTV News Promo: Spring 2017”
  • Kevin Connor, 2017 graduate, second place, “Decorative Works”
  • Sarah Mueller, junior, and Caroline Breitbach, junior, third place, “Betty Crocker
  • Kuboushek, honorable mention, “Friends of the Poor Walk”

Best Experimental Video      

  • John Woerdehoff, junior, first place, “Spring Broke”
  • Galloway, second place, “The Rabbit Hole”  
  • Seth Kilburg, sophomore, third place, “XO Tour”

Best Corporate Video           

  • Brody Kuhar, senior, first place, “Great Streets Kick Off Party”
  • Michael Runde, sophomore, third place, “Holy Family Renovations”

Best Short Film          

  • Villanueva and Jimmy Ralph, senior, first place “Run”
  • Sarah Mueller, junior, honorable mention, “Writer’s Block”

For more information on the Loras media studied program, visit www.loras.edu/media-studies.

Photo caption: Pictured first row (left to right): Jenna Gearhart, Courtney McGuane, Amber Krieg, Sami Graff and Kelly Kuboushek. Second row (left to right): Trevor Fannon, Maggie Wedlake, Emilie Dalsing, Adrienne Pearson, Laura Cifuentes-Almanza, Valerie Herbst, and Brooke Boddicker. Third Row (left to right): Michael Runde, Ben Friedman, Patrick Hunt, Tim Johnson, Edward Cromwell and Kyle Bies.

Loras leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan institutions to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. Loras ranks among 450 NCAA Division III athletic programs in Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings, 11th out of the Top 100 baccalaureate colleges, according to the 2016 Washington Monthly College Rankings, 13th Best Regional College, according to Midwest U.S. News Best Colleges and is among the 200 Best-Loved Colleges in the nation, according to Forbes Magazine.

Visit www.loras.edu, call (563) 588-7100 or (800) 245-6727, like Loras College on Facebook or follow @lorascollege to learn more.

Director of Communications & Marketing
563.588.7407 | Loras.edu | Duhawks.com