Loras Media Studies Student Awards from the Midwest Journalism Conference

Loras College is proud to share with you that several of our students and Loras College Television, were honored with top regional awards at the Midwest Journalism Conference in Bloomington, MN this past weekend, April 13 – 14, 2018.

Each year, the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association presents awards to the best work done by broadcast news operations and journalists working in small, medium and large markets, as well as college/university students in the six-state region (Minnesota, Wisconsin, the Dakotas, Iowa and Nebraska) in radio, television and online.

  • LCTV student journalists were awarded the following MBJA Eric Sevareid Awards:
  • First Place – Soft Feature: Brody Kuhar (Senior) with “A Ripple Effect – Convivium”
  • Award of Merit – Documentary/Special: Allison Wong (’17) and Charlie Grant (’17) with “Dubuque’s Holding”
  • Award of Merit – Sports Reporting: Aidan Wojciehowski (Senior) with “Loras Football Breakdown”
  • Award of Merit – Sports Play-by-Play: Aidan Wojciehowski (Senior), Patrick Hunt (Sophomore), and Tara Shingler (Senior) with “Loras Football vs. Coe”
  • Award of Merit – Series: Ben Friedman (Sophomore) with “Attainable Sustainability Series”
  • Award of Merit – Photojournalism: Charlie Grant (’17) and Allison Wong (’17) with “Fincel’s Farm”

Also, held in conjunction with the MBJA conference, was the NATAS Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation Student Production Awards.  We are pleased to share that our students also received three Crystal Pillars awards.

    • Brody Kuhar (Senior) for Photography;
    • Emilie Dalsing (Junior), Jon Quinn (Sophomore), and Andrew Kilburg (Sophomore) for “Oh Lord” Music Video;
  • LCTV’s SportsZONE for Sports Program.

Congratulations to LCTV News for their nomination in the Newscast category, as well as Allison Wong and Charlie Grant’s documentary nomination for “Dubuque’s Holding” in the Non-Fiction category.

The Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) is a membership organization dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work, past and present; providing professional development and outreach; and nurturing the next generation of television professionals.

LCTV: NATAS Upper Midwest Emmy Awards
NATAS Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation Student Production Awards. (Students pictured, L – R: Kelly Kuboushek, Michael Runde, Ben Friedman, Sami Graff, Maggie Wedlake)


LCTV: Midwest Broadcast Journalism Awards
Midwest Broadcast Journalism Association – Eric Sevareid Awards. (Students pictured, L – R: Sami Graff, Maggie Wedlake, Ben Friedman, Kelly Kuboushek, Michael Runde)