Loras College TV earns Station of the Year an unprecedented tenth time

Loras Media Studies Students Garner Top Regional & State Honors


Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association Awards

Loras College is proud to announce that several of our media studies students and Loras College Television, were honored with top regional awards at the Midwest Journalism Conference in Bloomington, MN over spring break.

Each year, the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association presents awards to the best work done by broadcast news operations and journalists working in small, medium and large markets, as well as college/university students in the six-state region (Minnesota, Wisconsin, the Dakotas, Iowa and Nebraska) in radio, television and online.

Loras students were awarded the following MBJA Eric Sevareid Awards:

  • First Place – Sportscast:  SportsZONE
  • First Place – Newcast:  LCTV News
  • First Place – Documentary/Special: “The Art of Living: – John Spencer Woerdehoff, Brody Kuhar, Jack Sarcone
  • First Place – Investigative:  “Poor Rent Conditions” – Ben Friedman
  • Award of Merit – Series: “Making It Count” – Amber Krieg
  • Award of Merit – Soft Feature:  “Special Spaces Dubuque” – Ben Friedman & Michael Runde
NATAS Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation Student Production Awards.

Held in conjunction with the MBJA conference, was the NATAS Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation Student Production Awards.  We are pleased to share that our students also received seven Crystal Pillars awards and garnered three additional nominations – more than any other college/university in the region.

The following students received top honors:

  • 2 Crystal Pillars – Long Form: Non-Fiction & Photography categories:  Brody Kuhar, John Spencer, Jack Sarcone for their documentary “The Art of Living”
  • Crystal Pillar – Short Form: Non-Fiction:  Kelly Kuboushek, Madison Galloway for “EMS: Career with a Heartbeat”
  • Crystal Pillar – Music Video: Seth Kilburg for “Take Me”
  • Crystal Pillar – Long Form: Fiction: Sarah Mueller, Brody Kuhar, John Spencer, Jack Sarcone, Amber Krieg, and Caroline Breitbach for their film “Curdled”
  • Crystal Pillar – Animation/Graphics/Special Effects: Madison Tolley for a lyric video animation
  • Crystal Pillar – Sports Program/Series: SportsZONE

Congratulations to LCTV News for their nomination in the Newscast category; Ben Friedman and Michael Runde for their nomination in the General Assignment: Serious News category, as well as Sarah Mueller’s nomination for her short film “Coffee Talk” in the Short Form Fiction category.

The Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) is a membership organization dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work, past and present; providing professional development and outreach; and nurturing the next generation of television professionals.

Iowa Broadcast News Association

The Iowa Broadcast News Association held their annual awards ceremony on April 13th in Johnston, Iowa,  where Loras College Television garnered eighteen awards including first place in eight categories!

  • LCTV student journalists were awarded the following top IBNA Awards:
  • 1st Place – News Photography: Ben Friedman – “Back on their feet”
  • 1st Place – News Feature: Ben Friedman & Michael Runde – “Special Spaces Dubuque”
  • 1st Place – In-Depth/Series: Amber Krieg – “Making It Count”
  • 1st Place – Farm and Agribusiness: Kelly Kuboushek – “Declining Dairy Prices”
  • 1st Place – Political Coverage: LCTV News
  • 1st Place – Overall Excellence in Reporting: Ben Friedman
  • 1st Place – Overall Excellence in Anchoring: Pat Hunt
  • 1st Place – Best Use of Online Media: LCTV
NATAS Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation Student Production Awards. (Students pictured, L – R: Asia Singleton, Amber Krieg, Michael Runde, Nate Kaiser, Dana Majerczyk, CJ Ponton)
Midwest Broadcast Journalism Association – Eric Sevareid Awards. (Students pictured, L – R: Michael Runde, Nate Kaiser, Amber Krieg, Dana Majerczyk, Asia Singleton, CJ Ponton)