Students and staff receive recognition

Sammy Eckrich pg 3233 copySeveral Loras College students and staff were recently recognized for their accomplishments.

Samantha Eckrich (’16) of Loras College’s Better Together program won the Mike Hammer Interfaith Leadership Award from the Interfaith Youth Core. Eckrich enhanced awareness of interfaith engagement, increased religious literacy on campus, and built partnerships with local communities in Dubuque.

Hannah Temeyer and Jenna Walleser have been honored by the scholastic honor society Delta Epsilon Sigma (DES) in its annual fellowship and scholarship competition. Delta Epsilon Sigma was founded in 1938 at Loras College by Fitzgerald as a Catholic honor society. As a result, Loras became the first DES chapter in the nation. DES recognizes academic accomplishments, fosters scholarly activities and encourages a sense of intellectual community among its members.

Temeyer, a 2016 Magna Cum Laude graduate with a bachelor’s degree in public relations, was awarded the Fitzgerald Fellowship and Walleser, who starts her senior year in the fall, won the Fitzgerald Scholarship.

Erin VanLaningham Ph.D., associate professor of English and director of the Honors Program at Loras College, and Dr. Adib Kassas, a Loras College Community Partner, are winners of Iowa Campus Compact’s 2016 Engaged Campus awards for Emerging Innovation and Community Partnership respectively.

Within the last three years, VanLaningham has transformed the Honors program into a “citizen-scholar” model, focused on community impact and student learning.

Kassas helped form Dubuque’s Children of Abraham interfaith peace-building movement, a highly regarded community partnership that has received recognition for its impact on local, regional and national levels.